Travel Photography 101 11/18

11 06 2008

 

Confessions, musings and tips from a snap-happy wanderer.

Kangaroo Island 1

Kangaroo Island, Australia. So named for its one kangaroo.

 

Never assume you’ll get a better shot later.   

 

 

 

No matter whether seeing the sights of Paris, touring Staten Island or going on safari, never assume that you’ll get another opportunity or a better angle to take a photograph from than your first glimpse. Early on my first morning on Kangaroo Island, I spied a great big male kangaroo feeding in the grass not far from the road. Instead of photographing him, I simply watched, confident that during the coming weeks on the island and when I visited the outback I would see many more…and they’d be in better light, facing the right direction and possibly even just better examples of Kangaroohood. Alas, I was wrong. The only other ‘roo I saw during my travels was one that bounded across the road at dusk, well beyond camera range.

 

It’s better to delete or have duplicates later than no photo at all!

 

Photo and post by: Simon Vaughan © 2008

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

